Greens win big in council elections

Greens NSW has achieved a huge boost in Local Government representation with three Mayors and 24 councillors elected from the 29 districts we contested in the recent elections.
Wed, 21/09/2016

Greens NSW has achieved a huge boost in Local Government representation with three Mayors and 24 councillors elected from the 29 districts we contested in the recent elections.  

Greens Local Government spokesperson David Shoebridge said the results are a testament to the hard work of our candidates and their teams.

"I congratulate all of our candidates and local groups that have worked so tirelessly so soon after the Federal election. This result is a real testament to the Greens NSW local campaigning strength."

Only half the councils in NSW were contested in the September 10 election, with others deferred to 2017 pending forced amalgamations.

Net increase of 11 Council representatives

The Greens went into the elections with 16 incumbents. By the time the final count is announced, we will have boosted our representation to 27 – a net increase of 11. 

“It’s clear the Greens NSW has had tremendous success in these elections,” Mr Shoebridge said.

Mayor of Byron Bay, Simon Richardson was rewarded for his dedication to the local community with an almost 12% swing and returned comfortably. He’ll be joined by three other Greens on council, giving the party 4 out of 10 votes.

We also achieved fantastic results in Bellingen, where sitting Councillor Dominic King came first on primaries and was elected Mayor – and in and Shoalhaven, where Amanda Findley was elected Mayor over former Liberal federal MP, Joanna Gash.  

Amanda said the results reflect community support for our core values. "As Greens we stood side by side with residents and environmentalists to protect our beautiful coast, our homes and the environment from the pressures of overdevelopment. This vote reflects our longstanding commitment to the local community.”

First-time breakthroughs

The Greens also broke through for the first time in a number of councils. Dr Amanda Cohn and the Albury Greens backed up their strong effort at the federal election and Amanda was elected as the first Green to Albury Council. One of our newest local groups, New England–Glen Innes now has Carol Sparkes elected to Glen Innes Severn council. Dr Greg Clancy was elected to Clarence Valley and Leah Ferrara elected to Goulburn Mulwaree.

Meanwhile, we doubled our councillors on Bellingen and Lismore councils and ran for the first time in Albury, Broken Hill, Clarence Valley, Glen Innes Severn, Goulburn Mulwaree, Kyogle and Yass Valley.

We had narrow misses in Kyogle and Ballina (both less than 80 votes) and Saan Ecker missed out by just 13 votes in Yass Valley.

Growing vote in Western Sydney

Mr Shoebridge was buoyed by the growth of our vote in Western Sydney, where we safely retained a councillor on Hawkesbury Council and gained councillors in Campbelltown and the Blue Mountains.

In the City of Sydney, Mr Shoebridge said the Greens were squeezed between Clover Moore and the gerrymandered business vote. “We congratulate Clover Moore on retaining the Mayoralty and staring down the Baird Government's crooked electoral system. 

"Across the state the Greens have been standing up for local government in the face of the Baird government's attacks, and local residents respect our consistent voice for grassroots democracy.”

If you want to join the team that's standing up to the Baird Government's attacks on local councils and democracy, why not join the NSW Greens

Banner image: The Byron Council team celebrates its wins on election day. Credit: The Byron Echo.

Full list of Greens Councils and Mayors elected


Greens Councillor/Mayor


Dr Amanda Cohn

Bega Valley

Cathy Griff

Bellingen Mayor

Dominic King


Jennie Fenton


Toni Wright-Turner

Blue Mountains – Ward 1

Kerry Brown

Blue Mountains – Ward 2

Brent Hoare

Byron Mayor

Simon Richardson


Michael Lyon


Jeannette Martin


Sarah Ndiaye


Ben Moroney

Clarence Valley

Dr Greg Clancy

Coffs Harbour

Sally Townley


Patrick McGinlay

Glen Innes Severn

Carol Sparkes

Goulburn Mulwaree

Leah Ferrara


Vanessa Ekins


Adam Guise


Danielle Wheeler


Andrew Sloan


Kathy Rice

Shoalhaven Mayor

Amanda Findley

Shoalhaven – Ward 1

Nina Cheyne

Shoalhaven – Ward 2

John Levett

Shoalhaven – Ward 3

Kaye Gartner


Gordon Markwart